Lenses

It’s been over 15 years since I’ve done any schooling. That’s quite sobering. I started my photography and small business course through Auburn this week and it’s a weird feeling to be in school again. A good weird, but weird none-the-less. I really love that it’s online and it’s self paced because the amount of information thrown at the student straight out of the gate is a little overwhelming. I imagine I’d glaze over in a classroom situation and miss a lot of important information. Doing this at home I’m able to step away and sort my thoughts (as I sort laundry) and return for more information once I’ve processed.

The course has started off with Lenses, specifically a book by Tony Northrup titled Photography Buying Guide: How to choose a Camera, Lens, Tripod, Flash & more. Auburn provided me with a digital copy of the book which also includes several videos along the way. I’ll be honest, I find the videos much more helpful than the book itself. It’s one thing to read about all the different types of cameras, lenses and their prices, but it’s another to see the actual cameras in use and see the differences in the lenses that Tony is comparing. He’s quite funny in his own way which adds a little flair to the videos.

In just a few days I’ve already realized that taking a proper course was absolutely the right step in my becoming a photographer. Never in a million years would I have understood just how important a good lens is going to be for my business and therefore for my clients. Becoming a photographer is not cheap! I’m rather frugal when it comes to technology so seeing some of the price tags headed my way has been disheartening, but when I see the difference that it makes I get it. It’s not something I’m going to scrimp on and be Negative Nancy about. I’ll still shop around and find deals, but as I’ve said from day one: If i’m going to do this, I’m going to do it right. And that includes having the proper equipment.

So for now my goals going forward will start with purchasing a Canon body. I love my current Sony but it’s been beaten up pretty badly. One port doesn’t work any longer due to being dropped, the LCD screen is so scratched it’s hard to even look at and I learned today that the lens is fixed to the body. I can’t change out the lens at all. Bah humbug. So all of that means that I need to put on my research cap and go shopping one day. I’m still unsure of which model I’ll buy but I’m looking forward to the reviews for the upcoming Canon EOS Rebel T6,

 photo Canon Body_zpsl6jq9bfu.jpg

I’ll also be looking into (if needed) a  Canon “fantastic plastic” or “nifty fifty” 50mm lens

 photo Canon 50mm_zpsegvjgvaj.jpg
*holy crap that uploaded huge!

and the big boy (for portrait photography), a 70-200mm Canon. I completely agree with Tony in that I HATE that it’s white. Come on Canon, let the pride and marketing go and offer this in black.

 photo Canon 70-200mm_zps2dkndxgc.jpg

Though, let’s be honest, I’ll save a few bucks with the Tamron lens with the hopes to one day upgrade to the Canon. Hopefully I’m not too hard on the lens as it is reviewed as being not as structurally sound as the Canon, which is described as a tank.

 photo Tamron-70-200-f2.8_zps4c93krdh.jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

